Rep. Michael Peifer and Sen. Wayne D. Fontana Elected Chairman and Vice Chairman of PHEAA Board

Harrisburg, PA (February 23, 2017)—The Pennsylvania Higher Education Assistance Agency (PHEAA) announced today that Representative Michael Peifer has been elected as Chairman of the PHEAA Board of Directors and Senator Wayne D. Fontana was re-elected as Vice Chairman.

Representative Peifer has represented his constituents of the 139th Legislative District in Pike and Wayne Counties since 2006. He currently serves on the House Appropriations Committee, the Finance Committee, the Game and Fisheries Committee, and as Secretary of the Transportation Committee. He has been a member of PHEAA Board of Directors since 2010.

"It's an honor to be asked to serve Pennsylvania's college-bound students and families as Chairman of the PHEAA Board - especially considering the difficult challenges that many families must deal with when planning for a postsecondary education," said Representative Peifer. "I look forward to working alongside my colleagues to help ensure that higher education is affordable and accessible for every student who has the desire to work hard and achieve their goals."

PHEAA was created by the Pennsylvania General Assembly in 1963 and has since evolved into one of the nation's leading student aid organizations. The agency's earnings are used to support its public service mission for the Commonwealth and to pay its operating costs, including administration of the Pennsylvania State Grant Program and other student aid programs and services. This saves taxpayers millions of dollars each year while ensuring that every dollar that is appropriated to a student aid program goes directly to support Pennsylvania students.

The Agency provided more than $103 million in direct and supplemental funding for Pennsylvania student aid programs in 2016-17.

"Serving on the PHEAA Board of Directors is especially rewarding since the work we do has such a profound and beneficial impact on so many students," said Senator Fontana. "The members of this Board bring a wealth of higher education, financial and business experience that helps us effectively respond to the evolving needs of students and families throughout the Commonwealth."

Senator Fontana has represented the 42nd Senatorial District, Allegheny County, since 2005.

He currently serves in the leadership positions of Senate Democratic Caucus Chairman and as Democratic Chair of the Senate Urban Affairs & Housing Committee. He is also a member of the Communications and Technology, Community, Economic and Recreational Development, Consumer Protection and Professional Licensure, Law and Justice, Policy, and Rules and Executive Nominations committees. Additionally, Senator Fontana is a member of the Senate Committee on Ethics and Official Conduct and serves on the Legislative Arts Caucus, Community College Caucus, Early Childhood Education Caucus and Manufacturing Caucus.

PHEAA has also announced that the following members have been elected to serve on the Board's Executive Committee:

  • Senator Robert M. Tomlinson (R-Bensalem) - Chairman
  • Representative James R. Roebuck, Jr. (D-Philadelphia) - Vice Chairman
  • Representative Sheryl Delozier (R-Camp Hill)
  • Senator Vincent J. Hughes (D-Philadelphia)
  • Honorable Roy Reinard (New Hope)
  • Chancellor Timothy R. Thyreen

For more information, please visit